It’s Okay

Do you remember

The first walk we took?

We strolled in the garden

Round the red rose bush

 

Do you remember

When you tried to cook me dinner?

We nearly burned down our kitchen

We had to eat at that café in a small corner

 

Do you remember

When giving your speech

You forgot the words?

You were so embarrassed, you cried yourself to sleep

 

Do you remember

When you forgot the days?

I comforted you because it could

Happen to anyone who wished it wasn’t Monday

 

Do you remember

When you blanked out too often?

You forgot where you were

Felt lost in our own garden

 

Do you remember

When the doctor gave us the news

I was terrified

But you held me close to you

 

Do you remember

When you forgot my name?

I told you it was alright

Because you still recognized my face

 

Do you remember

When you didn’t react to

Me visiting you after two days?

I tried so hard to get through to you

 

Do you remember

When you grabbed my hand

Made me promise

To keep your memories intact?

 

It’s okay to remember

That you were once in a better state

Just paint a brighter picture

On a clean slate

 

It’s okay if you don’t remember

Your life before it fades

That’s why I wrote this letter for you

It’s the only memory that won’t wither away.

©Isha Malaviya.

6 comments

Leave a Reply

